• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Renacimiento - Orquesta SCC (Salsa Con Conciencia)

Titel : Renacimiento

Artiest(en) : Orquesta SCC (Salsa Con Conciencia)

Genre : Salsa

Medium : CD

Jaar : 2013

Label : Handle With Care

€ 15,00


Orquesta SCC komt voort uit (is voortzetting van) La Excelencia met nieuw elan.
Former founding members of legendary salsa band La Excelencia formed Orquesta SCC. This is their first album continuing the tradition of Salsa Dura New York Style, with a heavy trombone presence and socially conscious lyrics and catchy tunes.
1. Yo Los Invito a Gozar ( 4:47)
2. A Mi Estilo (3:50)
3. Original Y Sin Copia (3:53)
4. Dejala Que Baile (4:20)
5. El Montuno De La Verdad (5:27)
6. La Peleona (4:10)
7. La Salsa Que Traigo (3:52)
8. Pancho Rumba (4:56)
9. Son Son Son Sonero (4:22)
10. Basta Ya (4:17)
11. Alboroto En El Barrio (4:28)
Orquesta SCC (the initials stand for Salsa Con Conciencia, salsa with a conscience) just self-released their first album, entitled Renacimiento. Why ‘rebirth’? Because the ‘new’ band is really the reformation or continuation of a globally recognized salsa group, La Excelencia, which has been around since 2005. It was formed by conguero Jose Vazquez-Cofresi, with singer Edwin Perez and bassist Jorge Bringas as the arranger. La Excelencia released three excellent (pardon the word-choice) albums (Salsa Con Conciencia-2006, Mi Tumbao Social– 2009, and Ecos Del Barrio– 2012, all on the Handle With Care label.) Despite the new name and several new members, including notable Cuban tresero Yuniel Jimenez and young timbalero Jesse Alfonso the core of the band remains mostly the same, and the style of salsa hasn’t changed one bit. Which, in this case, is a good thing.